There are a number of ways that you can get your driver’s license suspended. Your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the usual source, but it can also be suspended by the Department of Revenue (DOR), Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) or the Secretary of State (SOS) depending on the circumstances.
Generally speaking, there are a number of ways to get your motorcycle driving license suspended which include, but are not limited to the following;
– Multiple Traffic Violations
– Too Many Speeding Tickets
– Too Many Points on Your Driving Record
– Obtaining a DUI or DWI Charge and/or Conviction
These are the most common ways that you can have your driver’s license suspended. However, there are indirect ways as well which include failing to appear in court, the failure to pay fees, and even failing to pay child support. All of these actions may get your license suspended. Since the consequences of being caught driving with a suspended license are very severe, the effort should be directed at getting your license reinstated and finding other means of transportation.
Did You Try Out Our Quote Comparison Tool? Save BIG!
You may be able to get a hardship license that allows you to use a bike to go to and from work or school. This will depend on the circumstances of your suspension, but a hardship license will at least let you travel to school to continue your studies or work.
How to Reinstate Your Suspended Driver’s License?
The reinstatement process will depend in part on how your license was suspended in the first place. For the most part, each state has their own rules, regulations, and fees associated to reinstate suspended license. However, they all follow the same general guidelines.
- No Driving while License is Suspended
- Participate in Traffic School or Defensive Driving Course if Required
- Obtain SR-22 Form from Insurance Company if Required
- Pay all Court or Child Support Fees if Required
- Pay Reinstatement Fee
If you drive while your license is suspended, you risk having the suspension extended. For suspensions due to excessive traffic violations or speeding tickets, enrolling and completing a defensive driving course will be mandatory. If the suspension was due to a DWI or DUI, then an SR-22 form will be needed. For suspensions due to the failure of paying fees or fines, that will have to be taken care of as well before you can get your driver’s license reinstated.
License Reinstatement Fees:
The reinstatement fee is a nominal one that ranges from $50 to $500 or more depending on the circumstances. In Oklahoma for example, it is $350 to reinstate your suspended driver’s license if you have violated insurance laws. In Texas, it is $125 fee for most types of reinstatement while New York has a rather minimal $50 fee for licenses that were suspended under a definitive time frame.
Your state will have guidelines for you to follow to reinstate your driver’s license. Be sure to check out what your state offers and follow the instructions so that you can get your driver’s license back.