Mopeds provide a fun solution for getting around the city. They let you experience the joy of being on two wheels while keeping speeds at lower levels, making them easy for the average person to control.
Driving a moped is different than other two-wheeled vehicles. In some places, such as Washington State, you can operate one without a motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license.
Didn't You Try Our Quote Comparison Tool Yet? Save BIG by Doing it!
That fact won’t negate the need for insurance. Although most states don’t require owners to carry an insurance policy, rentals or leases might require this option. In that case, the vehicle would fall into the category of temporary motorcycle insurance.
Table of Content
How Do I Know If I Have a Moped?
Mopeds are typically classified as two-wheeled vehicles with an engine size of 50cc or less. Some states have alternative definitions, but most insurance companies use this classification as the foundation for coverage.
A scooter can reach a top speed of 70 mph or more, whereas a moped is typically maxed at 30 to 40 mph. Some communities have laws where mopeds cannot be on highways, freeways, or interstates. To operate without a motorcycle license, the vehicle might be restricted to 30 mph or less. More information here if your license is suspended.
Some mopeds share the step-through design that you’ll see with scooters. Many options come with pedals.
Should I Get Temporary Moped Insurance?
In most states, liability insurance coverage is legally required for scooters and motorcycles. About 50% of US states require the same for mopeds.
Even in places where moped insurance isn’t necessary, having this protection is helpful by providing extra security. A thorough policy can help riders save money by safeguarding their financial interests.
Can I Drive a Moped Home without Insurance?
Most states offer a grace period of up to 72 hours to drive a new or used vehicle home after purchasing it. To prove those circumstances, you’d need to carry the title or bill of sale from the transaction if you were pulled over during this process.
Several states do not require riders to have moped insurance. If you live in Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington State, or Wyoming, you can safely drive without an active policy.
Can You Insure a Moped for a Day?
Insurance companies look at the issue of “insurable interest” when issuing a policy. What level of ownership or control do you have over the moped?
Without motivation to care for the vehicle, the risk of damages and claims increases. That issue is the reason why most insurance policies are issued for a minimum of six months.
The most common time to insure a moped for a day would be when renting one. You have a short-term need and an insurable interest because you’d be responsible for paying damages to the equipment without that coverage.
Your credit card might have you covered for this kind of policy. Be sure to review all the perks and benefits of your account to ensure you’re not paying for something you already have.
How Much Is Temporary Moped Insurance?
Short-term policies are typically more expensive on a per-day basis than long-term coverage. Some insurers don’t offer this option, offering a six- or twelve-month coverage plan you must cancel when you no longer need the coverage.
Generally, moped insurance costs between $75 to $250 per year. Those who can bundle their policies with an insurer could save up to 25% on their coverage.
Temporary moped insurance is an option for short-term and specific driving responsibilities. Gather your vehicle information and request a quote today to see how affordable it is.
Use This Tool for Free and Save on Quotes!